Nitro-Mare

M-Pod

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey there fish friends,
So me and my girlfriend got a saltwater tank 30 gallon live sand 2 inches bottom, fake coral. I’m new to the saltwater tanks but not to fish or critters of all kind. Started with 2 captive clowns and 2 pistol shrimp. Tank was doing great 3 weeks later got two captive small kauderns cardinal fish, 1 royal gramma Basslet, 1 yellow prawn goby, 3 scarlet skunk cleaner shrimp, 1 bulb anemone (clown fish want nothing to do with it :( )
2 3.5 inch zebra dart fish
2 shaved brush plants
2 bumble bee snails
3 super Tonga snails

I’m having trouble with my nitrogen I’ve done 1 20% water change last week and yesterday 45% change. Changed the filter cartridge, have been decreasing feeding amount since the 45% water change I did yesterday.
I have all the proper de-nitrogen chemicals and live bacteria magnesium etc .
Just can’t get my nitrogen in check... please help :)
Thanks guys

image.jpg

fishguy242

Cronies..... INSERT BUILD THREAD BADGE HERE !!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
hi welcome to the reef

fishguy242

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
how old is tank

fishguy242

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
do you have a skimmer

W1ngz

Failed Padawan
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That's a really short timeline for a lot of bioload and really not a lot of rock at all.
When you say 'nitrogen' I assume you mean nitrate? Ammonia and nitrite are also considered nitrogen.

I'd make a guess that you're approaching saltwater the same as freshwater, but they're not the same. Post the full list of test parameters you have.

Also, the finish on some resin decorations in saltwater can break down. If any of that stuff is plastic, expect it to start to fall apart in 3-4 weeks.

fishguy242

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0