I have been very diligent with my Facebook privacy settings. With each "update," I've read the articles and adjusted my settings to make sure that what I post is only available to my FB friends and that none of my comments appear on other websites.
Today, I was reading an article at cnn.com. When I got to the end I was rather surprised to see my photo next to a Facebook logo and a statement that I was logged into cnn.com through Facebook. I thought I had specifically turned that "feature" off. There also was a check box so that my comments at cnn.com could appear on my Facebook page. I never comment on news stories and had no intention of doing so for that story.
As I thought about it, I realized that somewhere in the Privacy settings I had obviously missed a check box. That also made me wonder what other check boxes I had missed, though I had worked rather hard to get the settings right. Even more scary was that I now did not know what information from my Facebook page was appearing on what other websites because of some setting I had missed or incorrectly understood. The whole thing was just too creepy for me and certainly not worth my time.
So I looked up the link to delete my Facebook account and checked that box. I know I got that one right.
Gary
Today, I was reading an article at cnn.com. When I got to the end I was rather surprised to see my photo next to a Facebook logo and a statement that I was logged into cnn.com through Facebook. I thought I had specifically turned that "feature" off. There also was a check box so that my comments at cnn.com could appear on my Facebook page. I never comment on news stories and had no intention of doing so for that story.
As I thought about it, I realized that somewhere in the Privacy settings I had obviously missed a check box. That also made me wonder what other check boxes I had missed, though I had worked rather hard to get the settings right. Even more scary was that I now did not know what information from my Facebook page was appearing on what other websites because of some setting I had missed or incorrectly understood. The whole thing was just too creepy for me and certainly not worth my time.
So I looked up the link to delete my Facebook account and checked that box. I know I got that one right.
Gary
