Noob rock scaping advice

Zoabowlboy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I've put this bit of Tonga plate in tank on top of egg crate and kind of wedged bit of plastic tube under it to keep it stable in position I want. It is reasonable size at around 7.6kg

My question is whether there is a putty or clay i can squidge under bottom while its submerged to make it more stable?

I've never tried this before and there seems to be so so many products online.
20210320_201905.jpg
20210320_201859.jpg

Jedi1199

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It is a beautiful piece of rock. Looks a little close to the glass in the pictures. Are you planning to go bare bottom or will you be adding sand? The sand bed may help keep it stable, but if it were me I would glue it to a flat piece of shelf rock.

Alternatively, You could pour a bit of mortar into a mold, set the piece in while bracing it into the position you want it to sit in the tank, and allow the mortar to cure. Then you will have a stable base that will keep your piece positioned.

OP
OP
Z

Zoabowlboy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It is a beautiful piece of rock. Looks a little close to the glass in the pictures. Are you planning to go bare bottom or will you be adding sand? The sand bed may help keep it stable, but if it were me I would glue it to a flat piece of shelf rock.

Alternatively, You could pour a bit of mortar into a mold, set the piece in while bracing it into the position you want it to sit in the tank, and allow the mortar to cure. Then you will have a stable base that will keep your piece positioned.
It is too close to the glass lol . It literally fills the tank, I didn't have the heart to trim it down.