Ocean acidification

EmdeReef

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am not a scientist, but I gamble a wager that an 80 ppm atmospheric increase in CO2 probably does affect the pH of the ocean since increased CO2 in my home does affect the pH of my reef. I use a CO2 scrubber to reduce this affect.

I'm curious though, just how much does a 25% increase in CO2 affect pH? I imagine there are a lot of factors that we don't fully understand yet (such as CO2 sinks?).

Has something like this happened before? Is the change too fast for the oceans (the life in them) to adjust? I think life will prevail, it will probably be different though.

Yes, it's happened a few times, although at slower rates and this of course is the first time it's anthropogenic in nature. The PETM (Paleocene-Eocene Thermal Maximum) is often studied as one of the proxies (imperfect) for better understanding a 'rapid carbon release'. See attached.

Attachments

• PETM.pdf
    9 MB · Views: 108

Jose Mayo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There are many intrinsic and extrinsic factors to the planet that, by themselves, are capable of changing all known parameters of atmospheric composition, global temperature, ocean chemistry and biosphere ... centering batteries only on CO2 is a reductionism incredible, perhaps the unique justification (for this reducinism), would be linked to the fact that the supposed excess to the limits of natural compensation is brought about by human activity and therefore perhaps controllable by the adoption of some measures ... I find this hope of control weak in the face of complexity of the World Economy.

Regards

Last edited:

EmdeReef

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0