OK, what's the deal with mushrooms?

HawkeyeDJ

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let's see if I've got this right (based on my own observations and online info).

You put mushrooms in your tank and they get to decide where they will live.

Being a noob, I glued a green mushroom to a frag plug and placed it in a frag rack. A day later, I witnessed with my own eyes that mushroom remove himself from the plug.

I then did some reading that said mushrooms can move around the tank like anemones. They will settle and attach themselves when they find a place to their liking (low flow, low light).

So I thought I would provide a good location with a small bowl and a nice rock on the substrate in a low flow area for him to attach himself to. Apparently, he didn't care for my accomodations. Yesterday, he climbed out of the bowl and is now in another part of the tank.

Is this similar to your experience?

Reefkeepers Archive

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let's see if I've got this right (based on my own observations and online info).

You put mushrooms in your tank and they get to decide where they will live.

Being a noob, I glued a green mushroom to a frag plug and placed it in a frag rack. A day later, I witnessed with my own eyes that mushroom remove himself from the plug.

I then did some reading that said mushrooms can move around the tank like anemones. They will settle and attach themselves when they find a place to their liking (low flow, low light).

So I thought I would provide a good location with a small bowl and a nice rock on the substrate in a low flow area for him to attach himself to. Apparently, he didn't care for my accomodations. Yesterday, he climbed out of the bowl and is now in another part of the tank.

Is this similar to your experience?