OMG did I buy a Zoanthid or Palythoa?

Hahmlet

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys, I'm new to the hobby and just bought these 3 corals as my first. Can someone help me ID if they are Zoanthid or Palythoas?
I have seen the big flower type Zoanthids and Palythoas in the LFS and avoided them as I want my tank to be as safe as possible, without the fear of the water splashing in my eyes etc.
These in the picture below that I purchased had tiny flower heads and hence I didn't think they were Zoanthids or Palythoas. But after a lot of research I'm starting to think that they might be.
5f8214e5-2a0d-4f13-b9e0-5dd056127b75.jpg.d48d7d68190e1ea534631691f670ef49.jpg

shakacuz

hang loose, cuz
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Thanks for confirming. Gonna have to get rid of them then. :(
i disagree with getting rid of them. zoas and even paly’s can be contained. with proper precaution you can avoid all of the horror stories. but i could understand being more safe than sorry altogether and not having either in your tank

mfinn

likes zoanthids
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Thanks for confirming. Gonna have to get rid of them then. :(
There is really no reason to be paranoid of zoanthids. Many people around the world keep zoanthids in reef tanks. Some even keep dedicated tanks for just zoanthids.

OP
OP
Hahmlet

Hahmlet

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the input. I'll be keeping an octopus, so I wanted to avoid any toxic or aggressive stinging corals. I read that they don't do well with aggressive stinging corals, and just erring to the side of caution with zoas as well. But do let me know if you have any idea if octopus might do well with them, thanks!

Crustaceon

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0