Open source DIY robot for water analysis and supplementation - anyone interested?

benoit

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I created a DIY robot to perform water analysis and to automate the balling supplementation. I would like to know from you if some people are interested to reproduce it. If so, I will create a true documentation, assembly instruction, some tutorials (peristaltic pump calibration, how to calibrate for new tests, etc.).

Let's start with a video showing the robot in action.

It is running on my tank with great accuracy since few weeks but it is still a work in progress.

Why a DIY solution?

- Because I am more confident using something that I have a perfect mastery of and that I can easily repair in case of issues.
- Because I would like to implement some feature that do not existin the commercial products in the future,
- Because I always need projects to keep myself occupied.
- Because the commercial products are too expensive for me.

Outlines

- My project runs on a Raspberry Pi and is able to perform liquid reagent based colorimetric tests.
- I have imposed on myself the constraint of using only reliable, accessible, and widely available components in the market for a total <500$ (excluding 3d printer).
- Most of the parts are 3d printed (including the peristaltic pumps).

Since deployed, 147 tests (KH and Ca) has been performed with success. Manual tests are still performed on a regular basis to confirm that the robot measurement are accurate (Fortunately, it is).

What remains to be done

- Design of a PCB. I iterated a lot on the electronic part. That is why, so far, all the components are on breadboards, with a tangled mess of wires.
- Front end: I will develop a web frontend (Web application using Bootstrap, VueJs, etc.). Currently, I am accessing it through some Jupyter notebooks.
- Fixing some 3d models (for example, some missing screw holes added by hand)

What could be the next iteration