Opinion about Paly's

Jubbilee555

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to the hobby (11 or 12 days ago that my coworkers established reef tank came to live at my house). She has quite a large group? (unsure of the term) of Paly's that we decided to keep but the more I read about it the more paranoid I'm getting, especially when my husband is in there daily dusting around and brushing algae/sand off of everything. We have two young children as well.

From what I understand and anecdotally speaking, the bigger the paly, the more toxic it may be (Palythoa heliodiscus )? The ones we have are a brownish pink colour but they are starting to get a little turquoise tint to them (difficult to tell in the photo).

Should we get rid of these? Or am I being paranoid? My coworker just said not to squeeze, poke them or disturb them in any way. But what constitutes disturbing? She made it sound like they only release toxin if they're "upset" by something. Well between my husband cleaning and the dang hippo tang always brushing by them, is that a concern? :/

33463127_10160455018740013_9196257242595196928_n.jpg

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to the hobby (11 or 12 days ago that my coworkers established reef tank came to live at my house). She has quite a large group? (unsure of the term) of Paly's that we decided to keep but the more I read about it the more paranoid I'm getting, especially when my husband is in there daily dusting around and brushing algae/sand off of everything. We have two young children as well.

From what I understand and anecdotally speaking, the bigger the paly, the more toxic it may be (Palythoa heliodiscus )? The ones we have are a brownish pink colour but they are starting to get a little turquoise tint to them (difficult to tell in the photo).