Optimal light sequence for Clownfish

NanoNoob

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all! Newbie here, just set up my first Nano 20 cube with live rock - am cycling with two juvenile clownfish and wondering what the best lighting sequence is for these cute little guys.

Currently just the live rock and 2 clowns. I have an AI Prime HD.

Eventually I plan to add some soft corals, but for now just trying to get the hang of all this.

Thank you for the tips!

cmcoker

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You are cycling with fish? Best to cycle without fish and when no ammonia add a couple fish.
Are you monitoring ammonia? I'd put an ammonia alert badge on the tank and do water changes, probably daily, to keep it at 0. That's if you can't return the fish.

As for light the fish won't really care, so long as you set it to go on and off a certain time period they will adapt to it.

Tony's Reef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yea, they are hardy fish, but not waiting for the tank to have the initial ammonia spike will hurt their gills pretty severely. Definitely do daily water changes for about 2 weeks if you are going to leave them in there.

OP
OP
N

NanoNoob

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0