Ozone planning and questions

Gp!

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have decided that ozone treatment is likely the right choice for me to maintain water clarity. I've never used it before and knew nothing about it other than that it existed for water treatment until I started researching (thanks @Randy Holmes-Farley) how I wanted to handle water clarity. I've put together a rough equipment list and also have a few questions I haven't been able to answer. I would appreciate feedback and any help available or offered.

Questions:

- Acrylic Tank concerns: I've read chemical compatibility reports that state
acrylic is from good to excellent for ozone resistance. I assume these tests
are done at a much higher concentration than 0.3-0.5 mg/hour per gallon of water.
But has anyone experienced any negative effects from ozone in an acrylic aquarium?
Is there anything to worry about here? From reduced viewing clarity to catastrophic
failure (guessing unlikely)?

- Target for ozone sizing: 0.3 to 0.5 mg/hour per gallon of aquarium water
Is this actual display water volume minus rocks? Or rough total system
volume including sump volume?
http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2006-03/rhf/index.php

- Air flow rate: I picked the skimmer because it was recirculating
and offered the lowest airflow rate. The linked article indicates
somewhere around 50-500 lph for 2-300mg/h and 100-1000 lph for up
up to 2000mg/h. The Poseidon 400 manual [attached] shows graphs at 4, 8 and
10 SCFH. Don't really have access to skimmer data to compare SCFH
directly but my best guess is the max listed 10 SCFH roughly 2/3 of
the reported skimmer air flow rate - maybe I am way off here? And
no idea how to measure or guess the effects of the added restriction
pulling air through the drier and ozone generator. Do I need to make
adjustments one way or the other based on airflow?
http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2006-04/rhf/index.php#2

- What to use to house skimmer water outlet carbon?