Ozone Reactor Questions

tigé21v

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First off, I'm not sure if I picked the right forum for this or not. Could've posted this here, in the DIY, or the Equipment forum. If this would be better answered in another forum, Mods please move.

I’m sure this has all been covered over the years. I’ve tried looking both on this site and other places across the net, but haven’t really had much luck. If someone could either point me in the right direction, or answer my questions, I would appreciate it. (I've read RHF's articles on the subject. Thanks, Randy!!) Also, any info I'm about to spit out on the subject is only from what I've been able to find on the 'net. I have no clue how true or accurate any of it is, and I have no firsthand experience.

I’m thinking of adding ozone to my system, and I'm planning on modifying a reactor I currently have. I'm hoping to do it in a way that allows me to get the most benefit from the least amount of ozone. There seems to be primarily two different styles, a counter-current setup where the water is fed from the top and ozone is pumped through an airstone at the bottom of the unit, and either exiting the top or bottom of the reactor. Or a pressurized design where both the ozone and water are fed through the top and allowed to trickle down over media, exiting at the bottom.