Parameter measurement w/ Apex, Trident: WAG?

mdowney

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve only been back in reefing for seven months after a long break and I work in tech so when I got back in, I went full bore into automation, spending thousands. After six months of diligent troubleshooting, regular sensor maintenance, and recalibration, I’ve concluded that the Apex probes and Trident tests are no better than Wild A** Guesses. The data is all over the place. I’ve kept a log using controls based on manual tests and at any given point, at least two of my Neptune measurements are WAY off.

For example: right now Apex is telling me my salinity is 1.3ppt (it’s 34.8), my Trident has calcium at 663 (it’s 442), and Mag at 1121 (it’s in the 1350 range).

So I go through and re-calibrate, start getting more normal numbers again, then hope it’s obvious when the fall out of whack again.

My question: is this normal? Am I just setting my expectations too high? Because I feel like $3000 worth of measuring equipment should be at least kind of accurate most of the time.

Note: I did spend a few hundred more for the third-party salinity probe tool that pumps water past the probe and I’ll be setting that up this week. All of my probes are positioned right after the filter roller in high flow before it spills into the refugium and I clean them every couple of weeks.

areefer01

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I also understand I didn't answer your question. I'm sorry. I'm actually not sure if I have one outside I do not see that with my Apex or Trident.

Your Ca is high and I would say out of range. Especially if you compared it to manual test.

1. Have you calibrated it
2. Are these numbers after the calibration
3. Have you used the left over calibration fluid and run manual tests (Alk, Ca at least)
4. Have you run a manual Trident test using a reference solution