Pastor's First Reef Tank

DukeLeto

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Everyone.

I am a pastor of two small churches near Aiken, SC and also work as a health care company's chief financial officer.

I am beginning the process of setting up my first reef tank. I have maintained saltwater fish for many years at my office but have never owned or cared for a reef tank. The goal is to eventually have a 160 gallon or so tank in the living room, but to start a little lower on the learning curve (and to get my wife involved) I have ordered a Red Sea Max E 170.

It has been on back order but is scheduled for me to pick right after labor day. I have had some reef rock and marine pure sphere curing/cycling for a couple of weeks now. The are in a 20 gallon tank that I will later use for a quarantine tank.

The plan is to run the tank bare bottom and use beginner corals, ie zoas and softies along with three or four small fish. I have studied the pros and cons of the bare bottom tank and realize this is a hot topic issue. I have sand in my saltwater tank at work and just feel like I can keep a much cleaner tank without it. I do understand it will be harder to get started, but I have a good amount of live rock and will keep some marine pure in the overflow area as well.

I look forward to this adventure and any help is always appreciated.

Have a blessed day!
IMG_1885.JPG

... and so it begins...

Last edited:
OP
OP
DukeLeto

DukeLeto

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well that looks very nice so far, great start!
Shaun, that is a beautiful tank you have. Ill be sure to read through your thread in the next few days. Great start= pile of rocks and spheres and a rotting shrimp! Am I talented or what? Thanks for stopping by!

Jon Fishman

Cleveland Ohio, buy/sell local!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0