Poor Man's Nutrients Control - Donovan's Nitrate Destroyer

Reeftank2008

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 21, 2021
Messages
23
Reaction score
11
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
UK
So it's now in position is my destroyer and just doing some leak checks however can someone tell me do both sides of the reactor need to be sealed air tight or can the inlet side be a tight fit but not glued shut?

Thanks
16625805024521643518380248861481.jpg
 
AquaCave Logo Banner

olonmv

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2021
Messages
1,136
Reaction score
1,178
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Houston
Just a quick update….on 9/3/22 put nitrate destroyer into play. Started with 36.9 ppm in dt and am currently down to 16.3ppm. Tests done via hanna hr nitrate checker. I’ve done no waterchanges and my no3 has gone down 20.6ppm.
 
Tidal Gardens
Nutramar Foods

olonmv

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2021
Messages
1,136
Reaction score
1,178
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Houston
I used seachem stability, zeobak and fm bacto so abut of them all. I'm using fm bacto energy and kz zeostart 3 as the carbon source....
Maybe someone can chime in on those bottled bacs as Im not very familiar with the types of bacteria in them. What seems to be the one that works well is MB7 to seed which is the route I went (I had a half bottle of the stuff already) and carbon doses with 80 proof vodka. Bought the cheapest smallest bottle they had and seeded for 5-6 days and started vodka on the 3rd. I did up my dose from .8 to 1ml after day 7 of initial dose or so.
 
Avast

olonmv

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2021
Messages
1,136
Reaction score
1,178
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Houston
I believe in a previous post he said his volume is 500L which 35ml/min would would equate to the 10% daily exchange rate.
I’m gonna be honest. I think your DND might be undersized. 132 gallons (total volume I’m assuming) is your volume in gallons, you need a DND to accommodate 3.2 gallons when dry (no media). Your current one is under 2 gallons. You need either 48” long or a 24” double rise in 4” PVC. Someone check me please. Or try slowing flow down.

Edit: sorry, I meant to respond to @Reeftank2008 . I feel that His DND is undersized so his flow needs to be reduced but you’re correct, 35ml per minute is what I get as flow rate for one that I think is the correct size.
 
Last edited:
Reef Chasers Aquaculture

olonmv

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2021
Messages
1,136
Reaction score
1,178
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Houston
I started the DND up on 7th September so I'm approx 12 days in. I'm reading it can take 4 weeks to kick in? That right?
Your DND has a volume capacity when dry of 1.24 gallons. I think you need to be able to hold about 3.2 gallons. In retrospect, Donovan’s holds 1.958 gallons when dry. He has an 80 gallon tank. Yours is more than 1 1/2 times bigger than his yet your DND is smaller. You can always try slowing down flow more. I’m not sure if that would suit your tank volume though.
 

Reeftank2008

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 21, 2021
Messages
23
Reaction score
11
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
UK
Your DND has a volume capacity when dry of 1.24 gallons. I think you need to be able to hold about 3.2 gallons. In retrospect, Donovan’s holds 1.958 gallons when dry. He has an 80 gallon tank. Yours is more than 1 1/2 times bigger than his yet your DND is smaller. You can always try slowing down flow more. I’m not sure if that would suit your tank volume though.
So the reactor may not be big enough but surely the outlet would be zero? I'm currently turning over 10% of the tank which isn't much?
 

Steve2020

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
321
Reaction score
286
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Woodbury
"So the reactor may not be big enough but surely the outlet would be zero?"
Not necessarily. If your DND is not big enough you may not be eliminating the O2 to grow anaerobic bacteria which as you know is the bacteria that consumes the NO3. If this is the issue, you may see an increase vice a decrease in NO3 at the discharge of the DND.
 
Tidal Gardens
AS

wmb0003

Active Member
Review score
+3 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
251
Reaction score
289
Review score
+3 /0 /-0
Location
Auburn AL
I'm thinking I may need to go sulphur reactor is this is the case as I can't really make this unit any bigger....
Have you compared the tank water vs the outlet of the DND? You need to measure nitrates in the outlet of the DND 15 mins after you have dosed the carbon source. If there is not a difference, there might be a problem with the bacteria population.
 

Steve2020

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 7, 2020
Messages
321
Reaction score
286
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Woodbury
Have you compared the tank water vs the outlet of the DND? You need to measure nitrates in the outlet of the DND 15 mins after you have dosed the carbon source. If there is not a difference, there might be a problem with the bacteria population.
Could you explain to me the 15min check after dosing carbon? In my DND it takes 3.5-4hrs for inlet water to exit the DND. I am auto dosing 2.5ml every 3hrs. My DND is working fine but curious about your 15min rule.
 

How have you used eggcrate in or around your aquarium?

  • Aquarium lid

    Votes: 87 30.2%
  • Frag rack

    Votes: 145 50.3%
  • Skimmer stand

    Votes: 85 29.5%
  • Sump Divider

    Votes: 60 20.8%
  • Other (please describe in the discussion)

    Votes: 42 14.6%
  • I have not used eggcrate in or around my aquarium

    Votes: 75 26.0%
First Choice
Top