Price Hikes

Ryans Reef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
So first off, I've been keeping reef tanks since 2009-ish. So admittedly, I'm an old curmudgeon. That being said, besides keeping our pets happy and healthy, the best thing we can do for this hobby is help it grow so even more people can learn and improve on it. Not more than 3 years ago I remember Hanna Alkalinity Reagent being $9.00. It's now $15.00. I remember Ecotech Versas being $149.99, they're now $209.99. This hobby is inherently tough and expensive, and it should be. We're keeping tropical animals who live underwater in our living rooms. I understand COVID-19 happened and inflation, but eggs and milk haven't gone up 67% like Hanna Alkalinity Reagent, or 40% like Ecotech Versas. This hobby is difficult enough. Is it just me or are companies price gouging to the point of it being unsustainable?

OP
OP
Ryans Reef

Ryans Reef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
My grandma bought a farm with 8 acres of land and two houses on it in 1980 for 25k and sold it last year for over 800k. What changed
I don't disagree. Obviously inflation plays a part (as do many other things). But so does the timeline. I just feel the price hikes we've been seeing in this hobby are constant and quick. And property value and Hanna Alkalinity Reagent value for a reef tank which is a very obscure hobby in the grand scheme of things aren't the same thing. But let's use that example. So in 43 years your grandma's property increased by 3200% or about 8.2% a year compounded annually to go from 25k to 800k. In 3 years that would be an increase of about 26.7%, or $6660 give or take. Hanna Alk Reagent, which has increased by 67% over 3 years, or 18.55% annually if compounded annually, will cost $13,552.19 in 43 years, or $24.99 by 2027.

Clarkjw2002

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0