Punch in the gut = uneven DIY cabinet *HELP*

ComfortRacing

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone not new to reefing, but new to cabinetry. I am a mechanical Engineer but more comfy with metal working than wood. Somehow this got away from me.

i built a well thought out cabinet to hold my 120gal. Reef ready tank. I measured 6 times cut once. I checked level and flatness all the way thru and still one corner is lower than the other three!! So three corners and two sides are flat to the tank frame and the fourth is 1/4” in the air. I have already glues, sheathed and filled, sanded and painted the seams. Didn't notice until the i finally got help moving the tank from the garage to the cabinet in my office. Tank is actaully dead to nuts level on all four sides just floating on the one corner.

so is this a complete tear down and redo? Is there some 100% safe trick to fix this? The cabinet is build like a Russian tank and hate to tear it apart but dont want to risk the tank coming apart on me either.

any suggestions welcomed
F027B067-8D1C-4D33-84E8-0AC70C820780.jpeg
E6A3AA76-E5C5-4F50-BA68-52882F7B5A42.jpeg
44C1148A-1159-4857-A8AF-7B414EC11C39.jpeg
36D3DE6C-3A72-4496-BA54-275236B08427.jpeg
0CF2FD6E-B8E5-463E-A457-94C7192D9ABE.jpeg
71D2D27F-EFFE-4F27-B658-61433FAF02DB.jpeg
. Pictures attached.

flagg37

Custom stair builder - TreeofLifeStairs.com
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The tank is rimmed so it doesn’t need to be supported 100% underneath it. I would cut and paint shims.

OP
OP
ComfortRacing

ComfortRacing

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It is wood floor on a crawl space.

i have heavy duty adjustable feet underneath so it is adjusted completely level. The cabinet is so stiff that raising it in that low corner wouldn't do anything for it at this point just make it rock on the floor.