QT Question - Prophylactic Treatment or Observation-only?

Biokabe

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'm pretty new to QT-ing... I've been in reefing for 12 years now and have never QT-ed in the past. My LFS actually takes a decent number of steps before releasing their new arrivals for sale, and in all my years of reefing I've only ever lost one fish to disease (that I know of) - a royal gramma that developed symptoms of ich (and eventually died) after several days of elevated temperatures during a heat wave. So I haven't really felt the need to QT. I tend to follow more of the management school of thought - provide good, stress-free conditions for the fish, feed them liberally, and try to promote a diverse bacterial environment in the tank.

However, with COVID hitting supply chains the way it has, it's become more difficult to find specific fish at my LFS, so I've branched out into ordering fish online. So I've set up a QT tank to deal with online arrivals, and a trio of fish (two sapphire damsels and a royal gramma) have been in it under observation for about a month now. No signs or symptoms of any diseases, and all three have been eating well and active after the first night in the tank.

I'd like to speed them along into their eventual homes, but I haven't actually done any treatments on them yet. Am I wasting their time in QT if I don't give them any prophylactic treatments, or is treating them when they don't have any signs of disease just a source of unnecessary stress? And if I do give any treatments, what should I do for them?

I don't have the space or spare tanks set up to do any type of tank transfer, but I do have Copper Power, Prazi Pro, Metroplex, KanaPlex, and general cure handy.

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0