Quarantine Setup Help

thomas_neil

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Trying to come up with some christmas ideas for my wife. Trying to keep the fish side of it small this year since thats all she ever gets me.

I saw Petco is having a decent sale on tanks and air pumps currently so I might have her pick me up a quarentine set up.

I was thinking 2 10 gallon tanks and 1 20 gallon tank with an air pump and some air stones. This will be my setup for my planned 300 build so I want to make sure I have enough tanks to add the fish in groups.

I usually pay my LFS to quarantine, but that gets pricy and with the amount of fish going in the 300 I want to try it myself. I've never done it before so any suggests on equipment, what chemicals to use (besides copper) and test kits. I don't really even know where to start with the whole process besides I need a tank, PVC fittings, copper and test kits. My old LFS did a 3 step QT, does anyone know what they may have been doing? Usually took about 6 weeks with recovery time.

fishyjoes

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'll tell you about my setup and maybe you can take some hints from there...
I use a single 10 gallon for quarantine with a few PVC elbows, a heater, and air driven sponge filter. I only acquire one or two small fish at a time so this is fine for me.
I keep a solid lid on to limit evaporation and only fill the tank about 2/3 full so there are a few inches between the lid and water surface - this helps reduce mess due to the bubbles from the sponge filter.

As for the quarantine procedure itself, I use "copper power" and the hanna cppoer checker (HI702) and follow the quarantine protocol https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/current-quarantine-protocol.825055/