Quarantining fish

BRS
Reef Chasers Aquaculture

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
10,413
Reaction score
9,724
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Dundee
Can you use a 20 gallon tank to quarantine fish that will require a lot bigger tank ? I’m planning on a foxface, as well as wrasses and ultimately a tang. Is it ok to keep them in a 20 gallon quarantine tank since it’s only temporary?
Yes, within reason. That is done very often. However, a 20 gallon comes in two footprints - a 20 high is not as useful as a 20 long. I wouldn't have any issue with quarantine a 3" tang, wrasse and foxface in a 20 long, but I wouldn't try it in a 20 high.

Have you ever seen those wholesale cubicle systems? You can hold fish in those for a month or so - not an optimum environment, but it works. The main thing is that you need to maintain nearly zero ammonia at all times. To do that, you should establish the biofilter before you get any animals.

Jay
 
OP
Hilltopreef90

Hilltopreef90

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
534
Reaction score
173
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Jacksonville
Yes, within reason. That is done very often. However, a 20 gallon comes in two footprints - a 20 high is not as useful as a 20 long. I wouldn't have any issue with quarantine a 3" tang, wrasse and foxface in a 20 long, but I wouldn't try it in a 20 high.

Have you ever seen those wholesale cubicle systems? You can hold fish in those for a month or so - not an optimum environment, but it works. The main thing is that you need to maintain nearly zero ammonia at all times. To do that, you should establish the biofilter before you get any animals.

Jay
I’m planning on cycling the tank with Dr Tim’s
 

Fredinva

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 12, 2021
Messages
48
Reaction score
36
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Fincastle, Va
I've got a question or two for Jay.
How long do you qt a fish in a 20 long. I'm going to be using a standard 15, with only one or two fish at a time. Now, while qt-ing, if you notice a problem (possible ich), do you treat in the qt tank or move to an additional hospital tank for treatment? If you have an established (bio) in the qt, I would imagine treating in a different area so as to not interfere with the bio.
Does this make sense?
Thx for any response.
 
Maxout

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
10,413
Reaction score
9,724
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Dundee
I've got a question or two for Jay.
How long do you qt a fish in a 20 long. I'm going to be using a standard 15, with only one or two fish at a time. Now, while qt-ing, if you notice a problem (possible ich), do you treat in the qt tank or move to an additional hospital tank for treatment? If you have an established (bio) in the qt, I would imagine treating in a different area so as to not interfere with the bio.
Does this make sense?
Thx for any response.

Hi, I always treat new fish prophylactically, it is always easier to keep them from getting protozoan disease than it is to cure them after they have become infected. The size of the tank doesn't really change the length of the quarantine - 30 days of coppersafe followed by two weeks of prazipro.

Jay
 

Logical_Plan

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 28, 2021
Messages
112
Reaction score
202
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
MILWAUKEE
Hi, I always treat new fish prophylactically, it is always easier to keep them from getting protozoan disease than it is to cure them after they have become infected. The size of the tank doesn't really change the length of the quarantine - 30 days of coppersafe followed by two weeks of prazipro.

Jay
Is a formalin bath just redundant to the recommended QT protocol?

Also, is metronidazol just over kill with copper?

Sorry for the thread hijack.
 

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
10,413
Reaction score
9,724
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Dundee
Is a formalin bath just redundant to the recommended QT protocol?

Also, is metronidazol just over kill with copper?

Sorry for the thread hijack.
Formalin is best used as a dip, and then move the fish to a new tank. Dipping and putting the fish back into the same tank just allows reinfection. Low dose formalin can be used against protozoans at 25 ppm in the treatment tank as a 24 hour dose, but it reacts with copper and it strips oxygen from the water. I don't use it much anymore with marine fish.

Yes, metronidazole is redundant and a poor second choice to copper. I no longer use it as a bath. The only use I have for it is as a food additive at 5000 ppm fed every other day for three treatments.

Jay
 
BRS

Have you ever torn down a tank over an issue you couldn't seem to beat?

  • Yes! I have. (Tell us about what issue you faced in the thread.)

    Votes: 134 23.7%
  • No. Thankfully, I haven't.

    Votes: 293 51.9%
  • Nope, but it almost happened. (Share your experience in the thread.)

    Votes: 45 8.0%
  • Not yet, but I'm almost there. (Tell us what you're dealing with.)

    Votes: 47 8.3%
  • If you reef long enough, this will eventually happen to you.

    Votes: 37 6.5%
  • Other

    Votes: 9 1.6%
ACC
Top