Questions on timing of moving to a bigger yank

ttf5003

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I’ve been running an IM Nuvo 40 for 7 years now and I’m finally upgrading to a Red Sea Reefer 350 Peninsula. I’ve got a few questions about when to get things up and running. I’ve also got a pretty bad green hair algae outbreak on my live rock in my 40 gallon that I’m slowly getting under control. I’d appreciate any comments on my plan.

The new tank has to go where the old one is so I’ll be draining about 20 gallons of water out, sliding the tank over and then pumping that water back in.

Setup new tank, leak test with fresh water? Is the leak test necessary or should I just start with Saltwater? It’s a lot of buckets either way.

Add new sand. I purchased two bags of special grade that I already rinsed. I don’t plan on moving any of my existing sand bed.

Add fresh saltwater. Add dry rock that my Local Fish Store where I am buying the Red Sea from will help me aquascape.

Drain 10 gallons of water from existing tank into a Brute. Start taking out live rock, put in brute and scrub as much hair algae off with a tooth brush as possible. Blast with turkey baster. Place somewhat cleaner live rock into new tank with the dry rock.

Move corals over at this time as well as the fish. I’ve got two clowns, a watchman goby, six line wrasse, and a splendid dotty back. I won’t add any more fish for at least a month if everything is going well. There are also bio blocks and chaeto in the back of the 40 gallon I will move over.

When should I start up the red sea reefmat, right away or should I wait a bit?

Same with the skimmer, should I start that right away?

When should I order pods to seed the refuigum? My current tank is podless and my wife would like a mandarin one day.