Recommendations for Aquarium Chillers

Ed Chan

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 150g tank and my temps are on the higher side (82-83). Fish and corals are doing fine, but wanted to install a chiller to reach the more ideal temps of 78-79 degrees.

I'm fairly new to the reef game and wanted to see what all of you are using.

I'm looking for something reliable and of value.

Thanks in advance!

Daniel@R2R

Living the Reef Life
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Hmmm... I've never used a chiller, but maybe bumping this for someone else with experience will be helpful. Best of luck!

OP
OP
Ed Chan

Ed Chan

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks!

I ended up purchasing the JBJ Antarctic 1/5 HP chiller for my 150g tank and so far it's been working great! After calibration, temp is at a steady 78 and is super quiet.

Hmmm... I've never used a chiller, but maybe bumping this for someone else with experience will be helpful. Best of luck!

Daniel@R2R

Living the Reef Life
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Thanks!

I ended up purchasing the JBJ Antarctic 1/5 HP chiller for my 150g tank and so far it's been working great! After calibration, temp is at a steady 78 and is super quiet.
Great!! Glad it's working for you!!

coseal

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
teco! i use a tk1000

bblumberg

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have 3 JBJ Arctica chillers. One (1/10 hp) is 13 years old, another (1/10 hp) I bought used (it is of indeterminate age) and the other (1/4 hp) is about 3 years old. Nothing but good things to say about JBJ chillers. All of them have been in continuous use.

ca1ore

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have used a number of chillers over the years; different brands and different sizes. My favorite, hands down, are the tradewinds units.

Dr. Dendrostein

Marine fish monthly
View Badges