Red Sea Reefer 350 for seahorses!

Critterheaven

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi there. I have been keeping seahorses off and on for about 8 or 9 years. I have had erectus (raised several hundred babies), reidi and barbouri. We moved a few years ago and I have been fighting the urge to get them again. Finally gave in and ordered a new Red Sea Reefer tank and stand. It should be here Friday and I have slowly been gathering equipment for it.

I have three barbouri coming tomorrow from another forum. The previous owner says he has had them together for at least a year. A combination of seahorsesource and Divers Den at LiveAquaria. They will go in my 25 cube for the time it takes to cycle the Red Sea. Eventually I plan on ordering several more from Seahorsesource once I get these three settled in to the new tank.

Equipment list:
Red Sea Reefer 350 (73G display tank with 18G sump)
2 Kessil 160s for lights. Would not be enough for my reef tank but fine for seahorses, softies and macro
a couple of tunze powerheads covered in mesh bags to keep tails safe
Will modify the return to be a surface spray bar with locline
1/15 Artica chiller
9W UV sterilizer
Reef Octopus 150 sss Skimmer

That's the major stuff anyway

I am going to take the black film off the back and leave it clear to my light colored wall behind the tank. ALso going to try to paint the outside of the bottom with a light sand colored, textured paint and go bare bottom for easier clean up. Will get a few snails for clean up and have some tonga rock I am going to re sterilize and use for hitches along with several gorgonians and different types of macro.

I would really like to try to raise barbs so hoping I can match up a few pairs and let nature takes its course!!

Will post some pictures as I go along.

JOE_2217

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0