Reef Newbie 1st Tank Build, Coralife Biocube 29

Kronic

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the reef keeping hobby, so new I have just set up my very first tank! My wife bought me a Coralife Biocube 29 for xmas and I have been gathering as much knowledge as I can about the hobby so I can try and do this right the first time. I have the tank now set up and did a simple filter modification since everywhere I looked people said the bio balls should be tossed. I removed them and the filter pad and put in 2 eshopps sump sponges for mechanical, a bag of Matrix bio media and a bag of Purigen for chemical (Yes I saw the reefthuz vid on youtube lol), I have roughly 24lbs of live rock for the biological. I also bought 40lbs of Arag-alive Fiji pink sand, but only ended up putting 20lbs in the tank. I used Petco's Real Ocean Water to fill the tank. I will be ordering a Jebao WP10 in the next week or 2. I have a 150w Penn Plax heater in chamber one. The sump sponges and Matrix are in chamber 2 and the Purigen is in chamber 3 next to the pump. I just set everything up and got it running last night. I plan on getting the Current USA Orbit Marine PRO in a few months to replace the lighting. My fish list goals are a pair of Clowns and eventually a Nem for them, a YWG and pistol shrimp, a royal gramma, and possibly a purple firefish. Also a good CUC and probably a fire and cleaner shrimp, maybe a blue tuxedo urchin at some point. And corals I want are mostly Zoas, Mushrooms, and a few various LPS. Any suggestions or advice is greatly appreciated as I am very new to reef keeping. :rockon:

20150305_141123.jpg
20150305_141131.jpg
20150305_141140.jpg

Dextereef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
sweet rock scape. now to get some cool fishies to hang out in there! :eyebrows:

I would try and get some good flow through and around your rockwork. It can become a nutrient trap. That was a big issue I had with my biocube. Good luck!