Reef-Pi build... total newb

Tommy_G

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

Got a 9g nano reef and looking to run reef-pi as more of a learning exercise than anything, but eventually will be quite helpful.

Learning as i go, I have got the pi3, got reef-pi loaded and the first LED test is complete, going to try the others, but wanted to start my thread build.

I have ordered some headphone jacks and a project box as well as some thermostat probes...

:)

Last edited:
OP
OP
T

Tommy_G

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well after a day of messing with it, I feel like I accomplished quite a bit :)

Via the breadboard, I wired up a temp sensor (havent done the headphone jack thing yet). I even got the ReefPi software to find my gauge and have configured my dashboard to view it!

However, it keeps spiking out to the 185f. then will go back to normal for a few, then spike.

I wired the probe up as:
ground to black
3v3 to red
yellow to GPI04.

For now I have the temp sensor wire-nutted to the probes going into breadboard. I checked the text file that the probe writes to, and it seems to be getting 85000 at times which equates to the 185f.

Could this be a wiring issue, or perhaps the sensor is bad?? Any ideas?

Lastly, in the config screen, under address I have 0.0.0.0:80 ... should that be my PI IP address??

Thanks for any help, thanks to ReefPi contributors as well, I am way outside my wheel house, and have some great functionality already working. Kudos !

Michael Lane

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm glad you are able to get things going with reef-pi. I think it's a very fulfilling project.

It's possible the sensor is bad, but it really sounds like an issue with wiring quality. I prefer to use mini-xlr connectors instead of a headphone jack, but it is more expensive.