Refugium for brine shrimp + copepods

mbuch21

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The idea is to set up a single refugium that works for both brine shrimp and copepods. I’d assume they can’t be in the same partition because the brine shrimp would eat the copepods. So the question is, is there a single refugium tank that has the necessary partition (and capacity for any other accoutrements, such as a chiller) to achieve this setup properly and sustainably? Many thanks for your advice and recommendations!

chaostactics

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It'd probably be far cheaper to culture and "dose" the brine into your system than to buy what you're looking for. I'm not a refugium product expert but I haven't seen something like what you're describing. You'd probably have to DIY or go with my above proposed suggestion.

chaostactics

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It'd probably be far cheaper to culture and "dose" the brine into your system than to buy what you're looking for. I'm not a refugium product expert but I haven't seen something like what you're describing. You'd probably have to DIY or go with my above proposed suggestion.

OP
OP
M

mbuch21

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Got it. Thanks.
Question is really about how to keep them alive for a couple of weeks toward adulthood, just so as to not have to dose every day. I’m thinking of just getting a divider for a single tank with the smallest amount of overflow. Can use a single chiller and put a light toward the bottom to keep the pods down away from the flow. Not even remotely sure if this DIY solution is adequate.

DrZoidburg

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0