Remove frag that is well encrusted?

Myrdin Potter

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am pretty new to saltwater and I am adding SPS to my tank. For frags that are just glued down, I am popping them off the plug and throwing the plug that they came on away (and dipping). I did get one frag from a recent sale that is very well encrusted on the plug. I dipped (Bayer which is Bioadvance now) and scrubbed all the non-encrusted parts of the plug hard. Should I pop/cut the coral off the plug and have it start encrusting all over again or clip the plug and glue the frag with the encrusting still let on? From what I can tell, the encrusting in months of growth.

fishguy242

Cronies..... INSERT BUILD THREAD BADGE HERE !!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
hi,sounds like a pretty good clean,imo,clip post and glue disk :)

PicassoClown04

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
+1, bone cutters will cut the stem off the plug creating a frag disk. Scrub the underside of the new frag disk to remove loose sediment and anything gross that may have been hiding there and add into the tank like normal. It should be very safe since there’s nowhere for a pest to hide and you won’t be wasting all that good growth

coralbeauties

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
If you are able to you should qt the frags in a small makeshift qt system if you dont cut the frags off the original plug. We take the time to qt our fish why not a coral? It is very easy to miss an aefw egg along the edge of the encrustation or even underneath a lip of it and in no time you are now infested.
Jeff

OP
OP
Myrdin Potter

Myrdin Potter

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new enough to the salt water hobby that I have the tank I bought. If I had known that I need to run a QT system and delay 3-4 months before the main tank did anything, I am not sure if it is worth the hassle.