Rinsing live sand.

BRS

Paul31733

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 31, 2020
Messages
609
Reaction score
654
Just making sure I am supposed to rinse my live sand. It's Carib sea special grade reef sand.
This is my first time using live sand and the tank does not have any water in it yet.
Thanks.
Paul.
 
Corals.com

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
17,594
Reaction score
14,331
Location
tejas
OP
Paul31733

Paul31733

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 31, 2020
Messages
609
Reaction score
654
I will check these out later ..... after I'm done rinsing my sand lol!!

infomercial hose GIF
 
Maxout

CanuckReefer

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 18, 2020
Messages
865
Reaction score
1,308
Location
Port Perry Ontario
Brandon, separate question for you... I haven't added any substrate in 20+ years lol, and it's getting a little thin imo.
Carib Sea live is what I used originally. And looking at same again just to top up a bit.
Same deal rinse thoroughly, then with some RO and in it goes slowly? Will I start some kind of mini cycle, or its just a neutral and should be ok? Stir it about a bit with the existing base I assume? Sorry to derail thread OP....
 
OP
Paul31733

Paul31733

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 31, 2020
Messages
609
Reaction score
654
Brandon, separate question for you... I haven't added any substrate in 20+ years lol, and it's getting a little thin imo.
Carib Sea live is what I used originally. And looking at same again just to top up a bit.
Same deal rinse thoroughly, then with some RO and in it goes slowly? Will I start some kind of mini cycle, or its just a neutral and should be ok? Stir it about a bit with the existing base I assume? Sorry to derail thread OP....
No problem. Us Canucks gotta stick together lol
 

zukihara

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 18, 2020
Messages
592
Reaction score
1,139
Location
Nashville
There’s no need to rinse it, but you can if you wanna rinse the premium you’ve paid down the drain. Makes no difference in the long run. Better off buying dead, If you’re gonna wash it.
Man I thought I was taking crazy pills reading the advice before you chimed in!

Going Crazy Will Ferrell GIF
 

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
17,594
Reaction score
14,331
Location
tejas
But it didn’t in the links above

if you rinse or dont rinse, none of your params change either way

it’s a choice for simple clouding or not. Once we rinse, nothing changes to bad, no measurable params change thats primarily why its so popular to be in control of the system from the start. Real live sand has wiggling worms, you aren’t doing anything special for the wet sand by keeping the clouding.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

Reefnewb

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
465
Reaction score
232
Location
Gilbertsville PA
But it didn’t in the links above
As long as there are power heads in the tank it will clear up in a day. Also adding the little pouch of clearifier that comes in the bags of live sand helps a lot too. Iv used caribea live sand in every tank Iv set up and never had a problem. (Probably 10-15 tanks)
 

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
17,594
Reaction score
14,331
Location
tejas
Tommy's Phyto
BRS

When is the last time you traded frags with someone either locally or via shipping service?

  • Days ago

    Votes: 56 11.7%
  • Weeks ago

    Votes: 66 13.8%
  • Several months ago

    Votes: 36 7.5%
  • Over 6 months

    Votes: 12 2.5%
  • Over a year

    Votes: 31 6.5%
  • Several years

    Votes: 45 9.4%
  • Never Traded

    Votes: 228 47.8%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 3 0.6%

Online statistics

Members online
922
Guests online
3,047
Total visitors
3,969

New Posts

Top