Rubbermaid BRUTE Cans

Ross Petersen

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m just starting out with a grey 32 gallon brute and left some salt water mixing for a day with a heater.

The plastic smell emanating from the brute the next day was overwhelming.

I only pre-rinsed the brute with hot water and then RODI.

I’m thinking if there is any danger in using these, it’s at the beginning for those who don’t scrub with soap and rinse a lot.

But I have no evidence to support either. Other reefers seem to be doing well.

Cheers

NanoDJS

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well here is my 2c, I use 3 Black roughneck/ w wheels (el cheapo) for 4 years now never washed em , the things hold up like a tank. I have tons of sensitive corals , and never got any bad water / or ill effects from them. I checked the material data sheet and it appears they use the same goo in all the products , so I wouldnt worry , about 90% of the aquaculture joints grow right in the tubs lolz !!! Dont get me started on the massive systems with tub fuge's . Evidence based is the way to be RP /RHF 100%

parttimer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just did a search for garbage cans. I'm new here and on my second tank. I had my first one about a decade ago and just started my new 120 fish only tank. I picked up an otto can from Home Depot to mix and store my water. I am fighting with a constant ammonia level in my tank. I tested water out of my RO filter, 0, and tested water in the can and it was the same level as my tank. Only thing in the can is a heater, powerhead and mixed water.

AlexReef100

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0