SCA 150 Plumbing- Opinions Wanted

BirdGuy21

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Finally getting around to doing a plumbing mock up for my SCA 150 with a Trigger CR 44 sump and looking for opinions/feedback. First time plumbing a tank. Not as much space as I thought I’d have under the stand but I think this will work. Herbie style overflow with two Adaptive Reef manifolds.

Id appreciate some feedback or opinions as this is my first time doing hard plumbing. Had trouble getting everything to fit space wise so this is the best I’ve been able to come up with. Tried to use unions everywhere when it’s feasible with the space I have.

Main drain view without the emergency drain. Union at the bulkhead and before the gate valve.
E563A064-1641-47CD-B702-CE05E6DAB090.jpeg

Emergency drain- not enough space with the primary drain gate valve to do a straight 90 so two 45’s into the intake.
9805F0F4-99F9-4B01-9138-C0E858BA09AC.jpeg

Return with the manifold on the T fitting and the Apdx flow meter leading to the bulkhead.
B7ECAE90-164D-4939-A06A-5AE4BB637814.jpeg

Gup

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Considering it's your first time plumbing a tank, it's done very well. It seems you have some type of plumbing experience. First thing I did notice was that you do have a gate valve in place. Smart move. When I purchased my system, everything included, the drain line was plumbed with a ball valve. I know plumbing, but that got past me, so after a couple difficult water changes, fortunately, I was able to insert a gate valve after the ball valve. Worked out just fine

OP
OP
BirdGuy21

BirdGuy21

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you! I have some plumbing experience from home DIY projects but not much. I’ve tried to research as much as possible and take inspiration from others build threads.