SeaChem Reef Salt Review:

Zacco

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all. This is kinda a follow up on my Great Salt Debate Post about a week ago. I have been using Instant Ocean for several years and was getting tired of having to add supplements to bring my salt water up to spec for my reef tanks. This weekend I bought a 200 gallon bulk box of SeaChem Reef Salt. I thought that I would post my findings on this brand for everyone.

5 gallons of SeaChem Reef salt @ 1.025 ppt: (dry salt was thoroughly mixed before testing) (using RO/DI water)

phosphate: Test #1 Using ELOS Water Analysis PO4 Test Kit. PO4 = undetectable
Test #2 Using Digital Hanna PO4 Checker. PO4 = 0.08 ppm

Nitrates: Test #1 Using (crappy) API Nitrate Test Kit. NO3 = undetectable
Test #2 Using Sailfert Nitrate Test Kit. NO3 = undetectable

PH: Test #1 Using Milwaukee Digital PH Tester. PH = 8.0 to 8.1
Test #2 Using Salifert PH Test Kit PH = 8.1

note: ( PH was checked in a dark bucket, so I would expect the PH to climb in a lighted tank)

Alkalinity: Test #1 Using Salifert KH/ALK Test Kit. Alk = 7.7

Calcium: Test #1 Using Salifert Calcium Test Kit. Cal = 490 mg/L = ppm

Magnesium: Test #1 Using Salifert Mag Test Kit. Mag = 1490 ppm

My thoughts: A little bit of detectable PO4, but nothing a little GFO wont take care of. Calcium was found to be high, but after I add a little Alkalinity Buffer it should drop. I like to keep my alk around 8.0 to 8.2
Magnesium a little high. I keep my tanks around 1300 to 1350 ppm. Higher Mag readings are a good thing in my eyes. The salt mixed up clear with no residue on the bottom of the mixing bucket.
Smell: (Yes, I smelled the salt water) No chemical odor or strange smells. (Instant Ocean has a slight chemical smell to it. IMO)
Over all I am happy with this salt mix. I know this is only one test and many will find this info inconclusive. Will I keep using this salt? Time will only tell. I will need to see how my Corals, Invert's , and fish