Seagrass Aquarium at the Ocean Discovery Visitors Center

Brandon McHenry

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys!
I work as a graduate student assistant and aquarist at the Ocean Discovery Visitors Center. We are a small educational facility designed to showcase all of the research being conducted by the marine scientists and engineers at Florida Atlantic University's Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute, which is located in Fort Pierce, Florida. We have recently renovated the visitors center to include several aquariums that highlight some of our research areas. As a long time hobbyist and member of Reef2Reef I wanted to show everyone here some of the aquariums we have built.

Also check out two of my other threads about aquariums at the Ocean Discovery Visitors Center

https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/1...t-the-ocean-discovery-visitors-center.413700/

https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/sponge-reef-at-the-ocean-discovery-visitors-center.409311/

The aquarium I would like to highlight is our first ever build that is part of our Marine Ecosystem Health Exhibit. This tank showcases the beauty and importance of seagrass ecosystems that are found in the Indian River Lagoon.
HBOI_Site_Link_Port_Channel.jpg

spoil-islands-1.jpg

For those of you who are not aware, the Indian River Lagoon is an estuary (which is a mix of freshwater from inland and saltwater from the ocean) of national significance that runs approximately 156 miles along the east coast of Florida. It encompasses 6 inlets from Ponce Inlet in the north to Jupiter Inlet in the south and is made up of the Indian River, the Mosquito Lagoon and the Banana River.
IRLMap.gif
Picture1.jpg