Sponge Reef at the Ocean Discovery Visitors Center

Brandon McHenry

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys!

I work as a graduate student assistant and aquarist at the Ocean Discovery Visitors Center. We are a small educational facility designed to showcase all of the research being conducted by the marine scientists and engineers at Florida Atlantic University's Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute, which is located in Fort Pierce, Florida. We have recently renovated the visitors center to include several aquariums that highlight some of our research areas. As a long time hobbyist and member of Reef2Reef I wanted to show everyone here some of the aquariums we have built.

IMG_2843.jpg

The aquarium I am going to show in this thread is a sponge and soft coral tank. This display is part of our Marine Drug Discovery Exhibit (Biomedical and Biotechnology Research). This program was one of the Institute's first research areas dedicated to discovering new medicines from deep sea sponges and soft corals. This research was made possible through our use of the state-of-the-art Johnson SeaLink submersibles, which were in operation from 1971 until 2010. These human operated vehicles were capable of taking 4 scientists down to 3,000 feet for a total of 4 hours.

Launch JSL6 300dpi .jpg

JSL Reed Santos dive.jpg

201505111_T-10-50-55_Mohawk ROV collecting sponge Axinellidae.jpg

During their operation, the Johnson SeaLink Submersibles conducted over 9,000 dives and were used by approximately 3,000 scientists. They were also integral in establishing our Biomedical Research group by collecting over 32,000 different organisms to fuel our search for new drugs.

5.JPG

Today we focus on finding new medicines from the sea including antibiotics to treat diseases like MRSA and tuberculosis as well as novel cancer therapies for ovarian, breast and pancreatic cancer.

9.jpg

CancerCells(treated).jpg