Should I buy a rodi unit or protein skimmer

Hempknight

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello I'm new to saltwater and in the market for some tank items been looking around and seen protein and rodi units on sale I don't have either one and was wondering what would be better for,me to get at this time as I can only afford 1 tank has been up and running for 3 months using a canister filter having some issues with red algea and was wondering what would be the better buy at this time (i know I need both)

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you're on non rodi water now, definitely the rodi unit.
At 3 months the ugly phase is not unusual. If you keep the canister clean every month it should be just fine. I ran tanks with only aquaclear filters for many years.

OP
OP
Hempknight

Hempknight

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm looking at the aquatic life to buddie reverse osmosis system on Amazon would it be fine for my tank I'm not really sure on these things can someone please let me know it is a 4 stage unit

thaitopher

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How big is your tank? If its small enough you could just use distilled water from the grocery store and add a skimmer. I have a 20 gallon and thats what I do. Distilled water is pretty much the same as RODI.

Mike N

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm looking at the aquatic life to buddie reverse osmosis system on Amazon would it be fine for my tank I'm not really sure on these things can someone please let me know it is a 4 stage unit
That one is just RO system. If you want to stick with aquatic life brand, get this one. Its RODI, 4 stage.
HOWEVER, if you have the money to spend i'd HIGHLY recommend BRS's RODI systems. The one I linked has an inline TDS meter and some other extras. There is a cheaper $134 version though.

Orangezuk

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0