Sick porcupine puffer at LFS

enthb

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I only have one LFS within an hour of me and haven't been there in a while. It typically has been well ran the staff seemed pretty knowledgable and the animals cared for as needed. This time when I went in I observed several fish with sunken bellies and two blue tang with velvet. One was obviously not going to make it much longer and the other was covered pretty bad but still moving around. Then I saw a porcupine puffer that was sitting on the bottom of the tank that had a very sunken belly. It looked pitiful and was occasionally going through the substrate searching for food it seemed.

I am only a beginner but have researched for months and prepared for a lot of possibilities. I currently have 2 cycled 10 gallon quarantine tanks with fish in them that are thriving so far. I also have a 20 gallon thats empty. One has been in 3 weeks the other has been in 2 weeks. I hadn't planned on getting a porcupine puffer because my DT is 125. I felt really bad for the little guy. He was about 5 inches long. I would like to try to rescue him but it might be over my head and technically i don't have the proper tank size but I thought it might be a better situation than he's in. I do have the capability of upgrading tanks in the future. I am just not sure what to do. I could cycle the 20 gallon from my other tank and have it ready for quarantine in a short time if he even has that long.