simplest way of connecting two tanks

maleks.reef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone. I've been thinking lately of using the small 10g cube as a frag tank. However, i do not want to run it as a separate system. I would like to connect the main tank to the small cube. Ideally, i would get another white stand so that it is not so low, but that is not the point of this post. I have zero experience when it comes to plumbing or sumps in general since my tank is an all in one and i say sumps because this frag tank, in a way, is like a sump.

So what is the simplest way of connecting the two together? (Im not interesting in hard plumbing or drilling either tank)

1645552773415.png
1645553047774.png

Greg Gdowski

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is there currently a sump under your display tank?
That makes a big difference.
If there is, then the 10G is best placed above the cube. You would route the return from the sump to 10G frag tank and then use an overflow to flow into the display tank. Then a second overflow in the display tank down into the sump.

OP
OP
maleks.reef

maleks.reef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is there currently a sump under your display tank?
That makes a big difference.
If there is, then the 10G is best placed above the cube. You would route the return from the sump to 10G frag tank and then use an overflow to flow into the display tank. Then a second overflow in the display tank down into the sump.
Nope my tank is an all in one so the sump is in the back.

OP
OP
maleks.reef

maleks.reef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sidenote: I was thinking of somehow running a gravity-fed flexible tube from the main into the frag tank and then some sort of return to pump water back into the tank. I don't know if this would work, or if the frag tank could potentially flood, or vice versa, plus it would look messy as heck.

Greg Gdowski

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%