Six-Line Wrasse

BeccaMel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am pretty new to reef-keeping/saltwater tanks. I figured the best way to start was to purchase used, but that didn't end well as the live rock I purchased was full of bristleworms. I bought a Six-Line Wrasse to take care of them and thought I had done sufficient research on them. A few days after he was acclimated and moved to the tank (120-gallon) I noticed he was stuck under a rock and coated with thick mucus, I made the mistake of confusing the aforementioned mucus cocoon with brooklynella. I ran to my LFS in a panic and purchased medicine for said brooklynella which I had been dosing for the past 3 days. I have taken a flashlight, moved rocks, and done everything I can think of in order to find the wrasse but since he was last seen in the cocoon he's been missing. I have a lid on the tank which has a very small hole in the top so I don't believe he jumped but at this point, I'm not sure where else he could be. Any suggestions as to where he is hiding?

Daniel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sometimes they can wedge themselves in nooks/crannies that you might not be able to see in the rocks. Best bet is to observe without getting your hands back in the tank as it may further stress the fish. During observation, you should be able to see if there is any activity - the 6-line is an active fish, constantly zooming around the tank searching for pods and critters, so it's only a matter of time.

If for some reason you still don't observe the fish after a few days, chances are it might have perished. Wrasses as you know are jumpers, while they might not have jumped directly out of the tank, it might be in another compartment depending on your equipment set-up.

Good luck!

OP
OP
B

BeccaMel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0