So upset!

AdamK1

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm so upset. Have made a mess up which I knew was a bad idea, but did it anyway.

I put two clowns in when my tank was cycled. 2 nights later they were both dead. I knew there was illness involved. Couldn't have been anything else. I figured as they were gone so quickly I was safe enough to continue stocking. I went to another shop and over a good period added some lovely healthy fish. All went well for a few weeks.

I then went back to the other shop and saw a fish that I really wanted. Looked perfect, and was in a different system to the clowns, so I went for it with reservations.

Within hours it was slammed with whitespot. My acclimatising process is spotless. General moving stress, but nothing out of the ordinary. This is my first tank for a few years, but a few years ago I kept large sps reefs and the lot. I'm not a newbie. By the next day it was obviously more than whitespot on this fish. Either brook or velvet, and now it's spreading. I'm literally watching my fish get sick and die 1 by one, and it's horrible. 4 down already, who knows how many more to follow.

Simple fact, either the clowns or the tang brought this in. Every other fish from the other shop was doing so well. I should have known better. I know I should be quarentining everything, but realistically I don't have 2 tanks to achieve this. I'm so angry, and this shop has cost itself thousands in purchases I would have made!

So do I have any options, aside from taking everything out, treating it, fallowing the tank, then putting it back? I'm now running UV, carbon, the usual stuff.

How about future stock? Of course I'll be adding nothing swimming any time soon. Will this ever be gone if any fish survive this illness and don't get taken out of the tank? Will this attack every new, slightly stressed fish forever until the tank is fallowed for 3 months?

Thanks for any advice.

ReefingDreams

View Badges