stocking 46 gal

Cannons Fish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
and I did not think that I could put a tang in that small of a tank

i have an yellow eyed kole tang in my 46 gallon bow front reef tank and he is doing really well. The only problem with tangs is that you have to feed them a lot of seaweed if there is not a lot of algae on the rocks for them to eat.

Seffner

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not an expert by any stretch, but I do know from experience that Maroon Clowns can get fairly big and they can get mean! I'm just going on what I've read up on, but I don't think the lionfish or puffer are necessarily the worst choices, but the lionfish may eat smaller fish, and the puffer is potentially a threat to any shrimp. I don't know that I would try the eel, they seem to be an even bigger threat to eat smaller fish and any crustaceans. At this point, I think I would err on the side of caution and look for other fish.

I'm really impressed at how you have not just asked for advice, but it seems you've made adjustments to your plan based on some good advice. If you overstock, it's more likely there will be aggressive behavior by many of the fish, and that causes stress with leads to problems.

I'm still new to this too, but I would search through the forums or type the name of each fish you are considering in the search block at the top right of the page. It will list the different threads concerning that fish.

Finally, in the Meet and Greet Forum, there are instructions to include #reefsquad and someone should respond.

Last edited:

nereefpat

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
since the COVID 19 I have not been able to set up the reef tank so I was looking around and saw a Fuzzy Dwarf Lionfish and an Antennata Lionfish, I was wondering if That would work in the 46 gal tank

I am still getting Clowns, so I was thinking about Maroon or Cinnamon Clown fish due to there size