Suddenly add 20 fish to Established tank

OP
T

Tou

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
174
Reaction score
113
Location
San Francisco
@brandon429 I have to admire your ability to convince people that their tank won't crash and everything won't die. You are becoming a pro at it.

I agree that Tou will be fine. If I can remove my 25-30+ adult cichlid tanks sandbed in a move without a toxic ammonia event then anyone with sufficient surface area can make much larger changes to bioload without a crash than anyone in 2010 would have risked or thought possible.

I would love to do experiments of bioload vs surface area to put numbers behind these new concepts but fish respiration and eating habits are hard to match. Either way, taking it easy, observing, reducing feeding for first couple days and having supplies on hand to correct is much cheaper than a bottle of bacteria.

Hi
Yea I am monitoring the parameters everything and see if anything changes. As of today, the parameters is remain the same.
 
Avast

maroun.c

Moderator
View Badges
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
3,503
Reaction score
4,824
Location
Lebanon
I'd just add an ammonia alarm (Seachem makes one I use on my Qt tanks, which will notify yuo if Ammonia is rising. be ready to do large water changes if its needed and to add some bacteria. instant cycle bacteria would be best in this case although i typically don't resort to those and prefer to let tanks mature slowly. yet looking at the tank I believe you would be just without any of those.
 
OP
T

Tou

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
174
Reaction score
113
Location
San Francisco
Yea I actually do have an ammonia alarm stick to the glass. Makes monitoring it much easier but I still need to run test every other day for the first month to make sure everything is stable first.
 

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
18,504
Reaction score
15,226
Location
tejas
One more small detail thanks tons for all this info :)
how many days has this been running w the fish
 
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED lighting

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
18,504
Reaction score
15,226
Location
tejas
We are ~four days past the the nh3 concern window that’s amazing.

this thread would be going polar opposite if your ammonia said .5 or 8 ppm (readings we have on file for normally stocked, normal-running reefs, the false ammonia alert posts- using seachem badges, api and Red Sea ammonia, but not seneye)

-your reef would still be working the same, the thread would be polar opposite with nobody agreeing your system isn’t about to die

the lucky part isn’t the fish carry it’s the one or two nh3 testers we can’t wrangle into common reef tank performance allowing for the go ahead here. I would not have believed them one bit once the pics of the tank with fish were posted even if they said free ammonia was present, I believe the pics.


I thought they’d just been added today lol and tonite was the first o2 test, very neat to see one week under the belt. I believe reverse photosynthesis handles o2 amazingly well.
 
Last edited:
OP
T

Tou

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
174
Reaction score
113
Location
San Francisco
Hey Brandon
So everything seen to be doing great. Ammonia didn't not go up, nitrate is slowly creeping up because I am feeding much more now.
Also I increase the time period for my algae scrubber and chaeto light time.
Hopefully it will balance itself out eventually.
 

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
10,775
Reaction score
11,644
Hi Reefers
I need some advice from experts here.
So my 65 gallon tank is about 2 years old and was housing 4 fish and around 20+ anemone.
Recently I converted into a clownfish harem by adding 20 clownfish all at one time. Suppose 20 is a good number for them not to fight.

Right now everything is doing great, I am checking water everyday but I am bit concerned about ammonia spike since I added So many fish at one go.

My question is if ammonia spike happens because my bacterial can't handle the bioload what should I do?
-Should I buy a bacterial in a bottle and just pour it in? I am looking at either DR. Tims one and only or instant ocean bio spira.
-Is it a good idea to pour those bacterial into an already established tank?
-if I do more frequent water change, will the bacteria start to balance out the bio load on its own?

Also any other good recommendation on product for bacterial in a bottle or idea on how to deal with this situation?
I am all ears and here to learn.
Thank you all
I do not think that this number of fish in an established 65 gallon tank should cause a problem (unless some die for whatever reason - which is what I would watch for carefully. If you had added 20 angelfish, my guess is you would have had significant problems
 

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
18,504
Reaction score
15,226
Location
tejas
You wouldn’t think that agreed


but start a poll and don’t show them this link


potential titles: would adding twenty fish to a reef tank without giving time for the filter to catch up cause a cycle issue?

predicted returns: over 90% say yes, that’s the paradigm bet

if poll is ran in new tanks forum the response will be 95%+ i bet for re cycle
 
Corals.com

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
10,775
Reaction score
11,644
You wouldn’t think that agreed


but start a poll and don’t show them this link


potential titles: would adding twenty fish to a reef tank without giving time for the filter to catch up cause a cycle issue?

predicted returns: over 90% say yes, that’s the paradigm bet

if poll is ran in new tanks forum the response will be 95%+ i bet for re cycle
Well - my BET - would be that a lot of people wouldn't ask the correct questions, like the size of the tank compared to the size of the fish. I do not completely agree with you that bacteria completely colonize every surface in a tank (denitrifying bacteria) - Instead they are food limited. The reason the clown fish work is because they are not as metabolically active as lets say a tang (they tend not to swim as much, etc - and therefor have less waste/body weight, etc. If you added 4 harlequin tusks to that tank that were 6 inches long, my guess is you would have a cycle (i.e. a transient rise in ammonia) - even if it didnt cause deaths, etc.
 

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
18,504
Reaction score
15,226
Location
tejas
I would have been most impressed if we were removing his sandbed then adding the fish :)
 

What percentage of blue versus white lighting do you think makes the best coral growth combo?

  • All Blue

    Votes: 12 2.6%
  • Mostly Blue

    Votes: 294 62.8%
  • Even Balance

    Votes: 114 24.4%
  • Mostly White

    Votes: 39 8.3%
  • All White

    Votes: 1 0.2%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 8 1.7%
Top