Sump water level help

Detroit_aqua

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! I'm new to saltwater, first aquarium with a sump. Im curious as to which chamber I am supposed to be measuring my water level? Its the waterbox 220.6 and their recommended water level is 10". Idk if I should be measuring 10" in the skimmer chamber? The return pump chamber? The refugium chamber? I'm lost, please help!

Thanks!

PedroYoung

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! I'm new to saltwater, first aquarium with a sump. Im curious as to which chamber I am supposed to be measuring my water level? Its the waterbox 220.6 and their recommended water level is 10". Idk if I should be measuring 10" in the skimmer chamber? The return pump chamber? The refugium chamber? I'm lost, please help!

Thanks!
I'm not sure about the waterbox, but generally the return pump chamber will level will change with evaporation (it's where you normally put the Auto Top Off level controller). I'd guess it's the skimmer chamber, but normally the skimmer manufacturer will have a range (like 8-10") where the skimmer is happiest.

S2G

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Skimmer sets your water levels. Your evap will happen in your return chamber

OP
OP
Detroit_aqua

Detroit_aqua

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So you guys are saying that if my skimmer prefers an 8" water level, then I should adjust the sump water level to that which accommodates that?

rusty hannon

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Thanks!
well to help what i can im thinking return chamber as your skimmer will have to find its level n you may need a stand for it n once your return chamber is 10 in. it should b that across the board.R

S2G

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0