Svaillans 90G University Capstone Project

Svaillan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone, I'm Stephen and I am brand new to the hobby. I figure this is a good way to introduce myself.

Like the title says, I'm building my system for a University capstone project focused on computer science and programming. I am working in a group of 3 and am handling the actual system build, programming any custom electronics, and ensuring that every piece of the system works together. one of my team members will handle a user interface when we come to that stage, and the final team member is building a database for system logs.

Before I begin explaining the build, let's talk about the hardware in my system:
Tank: Used 90G standard sized tank of unknown origin
Stand: Used Aqueon pine stand
Sump: Used 25G (approx) acrylic sump of unknown origin
Chiller: Used commercial titanium core chiller of unknown origin (quite old)
Return pump: Current USA eFlux DC 1900GPH pump
Power Heads: Current USA eFlux Accessory Wave Pump 1050GPH x2
Protein Skimmer: ReadSea RSK 300
UV Sterilizer: Coralife Turbo Twist 3x
Heater(s): 2 300w titanium heaters + Inkbird controller
Main Lights: DIY Custom built lights
Probe Controller: DIY Atlas Scientific probes / custom controller
Refugium light: cheap grow bars that will be replaced eventually
Powering everything is a Digital Loggers Ethernet relay controller.

For the build, I picked up this tank from a local place and was told that I was getting a "great deal" for what it was:

Image 5.jpg

I hope you notice that the center brace is missing (because I sure did not). so I kept moving forward.

image0.jpg