Switching from XM 20k to Phoenix 14k?

cMan5

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey reefers!
Up late doing some reefin research... And was curious if I should switch up my metal halide...

Currently on my biocube 29 HQI I am running a 125w XM 20k bulb... I'm not seeing much growth in my corals.. (I have a couple zoanthids, and three chalice pieces so far.)

I understand growth is normally slow for LPS, but I hear nothing but good things about the Phoenix 14k..

Would I notice much if I switched? Also, would I need to do anything specific to prevent my pieces from going into any sort of shock?

I am open to all suggestions as I am pretty new to this hobby:) just trying to learn the best way for my LPS to grow and be happy!

THANK YOU!

REEFKEEPER10

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't use mh but if you do switch you might want to put plastic window screen over your tank. Maybe a few layers and remove one layer a week. The 14k is going to have a lot more par than the 20k.

OP
OP
cMan5

cMan5

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't use mh but if you do switch you might want to put plastic window screen over your tank. Maybe a few layers and remove one layer a week. The 14k is going to have a lot more par than the 20k.
Nice... Never thought about that...

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
You shouldn't have a problem if you acclimate the corals a little. As far as growth is concerned, as you know, there are many contributing factors. I think you could get better growth but honestly be prepared for a different look from the XM. You may not like the color over your tank.

OP
OP
cMan5

cMan5

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks Rev, maybe I should just be happy with my xm?? I do love the look of it...
"What's so good about the Phoenix" is what has my buttons turnin though...

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score