Temperature swing

Mike Yaniz

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone... I can say i am a newbie at reefing and i had an issue with my temperature last night. I went ahead and placed a fan over my canopy yesterday to lower my temp. It was at 80F and i wanted to lower it some. Well i checked the temp this morning and it was at 74F. Can this one time swing affect my corals and/or fish. Or should i be worried. Thanks for the help!

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone... I can say i am a newbie at reefing and i had an issue with my temperature last night. I went ahead and placed a fan over my canopy yesterday to lower my temp. It was at 80F and i wanted to lower it some. Well i checked the temp this morning and it was at 74F. Can this one time swing affect my corals and/or fish. Or should i be worried. Thanks for the help!
Welcome to Reef2Reef!

Stability is very important to a reef tank but I doubt this will cause an issue. It really will depend on the types of corals you have. People forget that shallow corals can be uncovered at extremely low tides for several hours and be just fine. Some deeper water corals will be much more sensitive. Its something you should monitor and try to avoid but odds are you will be fine.

OP
OP
Mike Yaniz

Mike Yaniz

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0