The Big Conversion - Apex Classic Lite (A1) to Apex A3 Pro

CreatiVe2

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! First off, thank you for venturing into this thread. My main goal is to gather information/tips/tricks/experiences from the community, and hopefully help some users in the future that may be in my situation. I do know what a large undertaking this will be, and please keep your criticisms to a low, I really want to keep this thread for information purposes only.

Pictures attached: New Gear / Tank before it Crashed / Current System Setup

To Give a little bit of back story - I am an IT systems engineer with 20+ years experience, I know my way in and out of programming with the apex language. Over the past 15 years My apex classic lite has been through 4 tanks, and has seen multiple program rewrites. I have actually hit memory limits at this point and can no longer rename a lot of my inputs and switches. I know this will be a very difficult hurdle to overcome in the conversion process, but there are only ~15 that have the SW_#_# labels. All Outlets/Profiles/Sensors are renamed appropriately. The main reason I am doing this conversion now is
1- The apex froze/locked for a week when I was on travel and the tank crashed because of it.
I am absolutely devastated as this is the first major tank crash I have had in my 18+ years of reefing.
2 - I finally have enough money to afford the new A3 Pro, Trident, 2x EB832, 3x Optical Leak Sensors
3 - I want to streamline my setup / Gather information from the community / Possibly help some people in the process.

I have read This Thread many times throughout, and have it as a baseline to follow.
Question: Is this the BEST way to upgrade from Classic Lite to A3 Pro?
I understand the importance of having the outlets/profiles/sensor names match perfect to the new setup.
So that will be my main concern/focus when i Initially set the new unit up. I do have my label maker ready as well