The ever so hated micro bubble (phase?)

notthatkindareefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I am new to reefing so there will obviously be multiple questions ... sorry. I am currently running an IM 15 cube with a Bubble Magus mini q. Also for filter media, I stuck a bag of ceramics, filter sponge and carbon media (underneath the overflow chambers. And the micro bubbles just wont give in. My tank is still in the introductory phase (7-8 days old) and I am getting hordes of microbubbles in the tank. They seem to be ejecting from the return nozzle, not from something in the actual tank. Now my question is how do I know if its the skimmer, filter media, or just a phase that the new tank has to go through? How do high/low should my overflow water level be? It's currently just below the other two chambers causing small bubbles above the media.

Another Random Question: How important is a controller for my lighting setup? (Nicrew 30w) They are super expensive for what seems like something that I may not yet need (no corals). YET!

P.S. I would like to add that I have no clue how to tell if I am getting the proper skim from my Mini Q or any skimmer for that fact. Frustrating, but it almost makes me love the hobby even more ticking with the gear. :rolling-on-the-floor-laughing:

rhitee93

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is an AIO right? I have an IM 10g AIO that will blow micro-bubbles out of the return anytime I let the return pump chamber level get more than 3/4" below the level of the previous chamber. I eventually put a prism ATO on it just to stop the bubbles.

I also had a problem early on with bubbles regardless of the water level that I was able to remedy by adjusting the orientation of the pump inlet.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
N

notthatkindareefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0