**The GHL Mitras LX7 LED**

Ecotech Marine
Top Shelf Aquatics

dragon99

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
2,613
Reaction score
3,532
Location
Texas
anyone having their water temps rising from these lights?
Yes, slight rise every day by ~.5 deg while lights are at peak.
upload_2017-10-12_22-50-50.png
 
AS

dangros

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
496
Reaction score
158
Location
northern va
@dragon99 that's about what I've seen. At peak, it wants to raise my tank over 80. If I keep the house about 1 or 2 degrees colder than I would like, it seems ok.
@MrMichael, are you programming w/GHL's controller b/c I dont know of way to control the lights outside of their own program and I have an APEX controller, not a GHL.

Maybe I should setup a few clouds to come by during peak hours :)
 

HolisticBear

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
1,854
Reaction score
6,645
Location
NYC
@MrMichael, are you programming w/GHL's controller b/c I dont know of way to control the lights outside of their own program

I also control the light entirely thru GHL Control Center and while I own a Profilux, I don't use nor know how to drive the lights via the Profilux.

In the "energy options", I changed the output mode to High Output, but I believe it defaults to High Efficiency. I also adjusted the max fan to 100%, I believe it defaulted to 80%.

According to Light Composer, I'm getting ~75% of total output, so potentially I could run in High Efficiency? In Max. output power, it's also running with the default limit 80%. It does strike me as strange that the max output, energy mode, and fan speed are limited well below their max.
 

dragon99

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
2,613
Reaction score
3,532
Location
Texas
I also control the light entirely thru GHL Control Center and while I own a Profilux, I don't use nor know how to drive the lights via the Profilux.

In the "energy options", I changed the output mode to High Output, but I believe it defaults to High Efficiency. I also adjusted the max fan to 100%, I believe it defaulted to 80%.

According to Light Composer, I'm getting ~75% of total output, so potentially I could run in High Efficiency? In Max. output power, it's also running with the default limit 80%. It does strike me as strange that the max output, energy mode, and fan speed are limited well below their max.
The light composer % is based on all channels at 100. The power setting still affects the overall ouput. So you at really running 80% of 76% of the max, so your light is running at 60% of the lights max.
 

HolisticBear

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
1,854
Reaction score
6,645
Location
NYC
The light composer % is based on all channels at 100. The power setting still affects the overall ouput. So you at really running 80% of 76% of the max, so your light is running at 60% of the lights max.

That is what I expected. The part I don't know if is light composer understands over-driving particular LEDs while under-driving others. Might as well transition to 100% power before adjusting individuals. Thanks for the reply.
 
Fritz

dangros

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
496
Reaction score
158
Location
northern va
Have you adjusted the fan within the lights to run up to 100%? default is locked at 60%, that may help cut down on the heat issue if the fixtures themselves are cooler.
I just did today. Why on earth would they not let it go to a 100% by default?
I also upped the max output to 95% which wont help my heat issue but will probably help the corals.
 

Whipples

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 23, 2016
Messages
663
Reaction score
636
@MrMichael there is an addin card for the profilux to control Mitras from the head unit, but you can "force" them off via powerbar if needed.

@dangros i agree, but I think they do that to prevent people from nuking their tank. At 100% on all channels and 100% power these things are like 195w in output a piece, which is wild. It may also be required since they are made in Germany and who knows what regulations may exist, sorta like prop 65 in California where everything gives you cancer.
 

HolisticBear

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
1,854
Reaction score
6,645
Location
NYC
I wonder if I should back it back down then? No need to run using excessive power

A general rule, no more than 10% change in a week. Acclimation mode works nicely. Crank it to 100% from 80% and use acclimation mode to ramp from 80 to 100 over say 3 weeks. That's what I'm doing
 
AS

Be102

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
1,794
Reaction score
1,004
Would one be alright for a 36' tank? or two required.. looking between these & radions...
 

dangros

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
496
Reaction score
158
Location
northern va
@Be102 a 36" tank seems large for just one. If you have only LPS, I'll bet it would do but I doubt it would be fine for SPS if they were at the edges. Having said that, 2 would be intense on that tank.
I have 2 on my 48" (90g) tank and it's running at close to peak power when maxed out at noon.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

Do you think buying and selling coral is similar to playing the stock market?

  • YES

    Votes: 76 21.1%
  • NO

    Votes: 188 52.2%
  • Kinda

    Votes: 91 25.3%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 5 1.4%

Online statistics

Members online
690
Guests online
3,667
Total visitors
4,357
oceansgarden.com
Top