Too Low Nutrient Tank...ugh

Adkins

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well the new tank has been up and running great. Been tweaking in things here and there. Then a couple weeks ago my stag started to brown and my Acros and Montis started to pale out. So, I have been watching my levels and everything is great. Still though...pale coral.

So I decided to do a ridiculous amount of reading. Since I'm fairly new to an entire setup based around SPS. Also new to having this much water volume and the room to keep some proper, effective equipment.

Turns out my I have been running my tank a bit too clean! Figures. I base my whole setup around trying to keep the system as clean as I can and I over do it. Live and learn I suppose. However, I'm happy to know at this point I can keep my tank overly clean instead of struggling to keep up with high phosphate and nitrates.

I light of this new information I have adjusted my feeding schedule of both fish and coral. I'm feeding my fish heavily once a day as well as broadcast feeding my sps everyday for this week. Then I will recheck for NO3 and PO4. Going to aim for around .005-.01 of both for the time being and see how that effects everything.

I'll post back here with updates on the progress.

Last edited:

Pete polyp

acro serial killer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have the same issue with two tanks and at one point was feeding 6-8 times a day. For me the only result was high phosphates. I ended up dosing nitrate as an alternative.

OP
OP
A

Adkins

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Following... I can just give you a cpl gallons a wk of my low PO4 and high NO3 water if you wish :)

Haha! That sounds great Lee. I could just add new add new salt to it until I get the desired amount and then change it into my water lol.

Reducing your lighting period will also help.