Trigger issue

Msmerek

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok so I'm going to sound like a complete newbie on this one. I just bought a bursa trigger and after 2 days of being in his new home he has what looks like ich. Now I know this can typically happen from being stressed but I just don't get it. I have yet to have this issue in new fish. Didn't even get it from the hippo I once had. He's eating fine and swimming fine and has lots of energy and all of his color. Any ideas?

Gweeds1980

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok so I'm going to sound like a complete newbie on this one. I just bought a bursa trigger and after 2 days of being in his new home he has what looks like ich. Now I know this can typically happen from being stressed but I just don't get it. I have yet to have this issue in new fish. Didn't even get it from the hippo I once had. He's eating fine and swimming fine and has lots of energy and all of his color. Any ideas?
In QT or in DT? Any chance of a pic?

aykwm

Research Addict!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just to clarify, stress does not cause fish to develop white spots, stress will cause fish to become pale and colors fade away. White spots indicate parasites. If you can take a picture of the fish so we can have closer look at it, many people misdiagnosed velvet for ich (me included) and this can have unpleasant consequences. Although from your description it might be just ich if its still energetic, just watch him closely for any symptoms and I suggest if it is still in quarantine to start treatment, or if it is in display you can either remove all fish and treat or if it is ich you can manage it so fish can fight it on their own.

4FordFamily

Tang, Angel, and Wrasse Nerd!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Two days with notable ich makes me fear velvet is far more likely - especially for that fast of progression on a trigger. Can you post photos of the fish?

melypr1985