Tunze Osmolater Keep Over Filling

Ecotech Marine

PapaPat

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 24, 2021
Messages
105
Reaction score
60
Location
Eastern Michigan
Hey All,

I have had my Tunze Osmolater 3155 for a couple months now and it recently started over filling to the point where the overfill alarm goes off. I checked out the sensor and I don’t see any salt creep on it. Any ideas here ? The sensor is in the return area of my sump so nothing else should be messing with it.
 
BRS

Tcook

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 29, 2014
Messages
754
Reaction score
779
Location
California
Any calcium buildup on the shaft that the float sits on. Maybe there is "drag" occuring so the float doesn't move fast enough. Any siphon occuring?
 
OP
PapaPat

PapaPat

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 24, 2021
Messages
105
Reaction score
60
Location
Eastern Michigan
Any calcium buildup on the shaft that the float sits on. Maybe there is "drag" occuring so the float doesn't move fast enough. Any siphon occuring?
Not that I can see, also when I dose it’s in a different chamber with a power head to help prevent any build up. Honestly since the most recent Red Sea Pro Salt video came out from BRS and I started mixing in smaller batches at lower temps I haven’t really been having to dose regularly.
 
Champion Lighting & Supply

Tcook

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 29, 2014
Messages
754
Reaction score
779
Location
California
Not that I can see, also when I dose it’s in a different chamber with a power head to help prevent any build up. Honestly since the most recent Red Sea Pro Salt video came out from BRS and I started mixing in smaller batches at lower temps I haven’t really been having to dose regularly.

I mean the Osmolator float. Float shuts off ATO. Optical sensor detects low level, right?
 

Cell

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Apr 20, 2019
Messages
6,792
Reaction score
10,798
I'd pull the optical sensor and wipe it down really good. If that doesnt work, I'd think it's a bad sensor. @rvitko should be able to help.
 

Uncle99

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
4,052
Reaction score
4,824
Location
Province of Ontario
It’s behaving like there’s a tiny bit of coralline on the plastic sensor, or a snail is (was) on the sensor, take it out of the water and have a look under light for coralline, move any snails away from this sensor.
If clean, and no snails, it would need replacement.
I’ve had two do this and one was only 6 months old.
 

Tcook

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 29, 2014
Messages
754
Reaction score
779
Location
California
Do you hear the osmolator pump running when the alarm goes off. If not, is there a temporary siphon occuring when the pump shuts off?
 

Water Dog

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,096
Reaction score
4,682
Location
Fairfield, CT
Could it be a siphoning issue? Is the outlet of the ATO pump fill tube ever lower than the water level in the ATO reservoir?
 

BoxKing

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 31, 2021
Messages
182
Reaction score
149
Location
Philadelphia
Could it be a siphoning issue? Is the outlet of the ATO pump fill tube ever lower than the water level in the ATO reservoir?
This… I have the same ATO, and when I first set it up I noticed the water line that sat in the return chamber of my sump continued to drip after the pump shut off. I raises the tube, and put it at a 45 deg angle, aimed at the glass (to lessen the noise at top off). I have since added a half inch pex pipe, attached to my main return line, with my top off water line placed much higher up… you can’t even hear it fill at this point and the drip has been fully eliminated
 
AS
OP
PapaPat

PapaPat

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 24, 2021
Messages
105
Reaction score
60
Location
Eastern Michigan
Do you hear the osmolator pump running when the alarm goes off. If not, is there a temporary siphon occuring when the pump shuts off?
Yes I do hear it running, I haven’t turned it on again since because I am waiting on the water level to go back where it belongs.
 

Blue Spot Octopus

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
2,124
Reaction score
931
If the glass is too thin the magnet is too strong and it will pull the float, you may need to add something to make it thicker.
 

Have you ever had aquarium equipment damaged by livestock?

  • YES (tell us in the thread)

    Votes: 37 16.7%
  • NO

    Votes: 166 75.1%
  • Maybe now that you mention it

    Votes: 15 6.8%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 3 1.4%
SR
Top