Two part dosing

clowndude

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Currently my tank runs with a calcium of 420, alk at 9 and mag at???( I'm working on getting a test kit this weekend). I'm going to be switching over to the BRS two part solution to start working on my calcium and mag. I will be using the brs calculator to help figure out the dosing. My question is I don't want to raise my alk any higher than it already is, so will I need to even bother dosing alk? I'm new to the whole two part game so I'm sorry if this sounds like a dumb question, just trying to learn before I start dosing two part.

joker295

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
yes you will need to dose alk in your tank depending on the daily usage in your tank you will need to monitor and dose accordingly start slow

swannyson7

Moderator/Acro Aficianado
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Alk will be consumed in your tank just as calcium is and the demand will change as corals grow. YOu may not have to dose much if you are doing regular water changes, but that will change as your corals grow out.

OP
OP
C

clowndude

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Idealy what number calcium do u try to get? I was thinking 450-460 calcium and I know mag needs to be at 1400.

Billgax

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I aim for 420-450, personally. NSW levels are often around the 420 range... if I recall correctly.

swannyson7

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
400-450. And yes, NSW is approximately 420

OP
OP
C

clowndude

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So what is the best two part solution to run? I also will need a good mag supplement. I was thinking of going with the BRS product line, unless there is something better on the market?

swannyson7

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0